

Dallas Central Appraisal District

DATE: December 30, 2019

TO: Mayors of Suburban Cities

FROM: W. Kenneth Nolan, Executive Director/Chief Appraiser

RE: Results of 2019 Election of Representative to DCAD Board of Directors

State law requires the Chief Appraiser to conduct an election of representatives to the Board of Directors in odd numbered years. The process outlined in the Texas Property Tax Code requires the election to be conducted and the individual entities notified of the results once the process is complete.

1. Suburban Cities Election

The election process requires a runoff. The following suburban cities participated in the election. Each of their selections is noted below. The current tally indicates Michael Hurtt of Desoto received 13, Brett Franks of Sachse received 3, Mona Dixon of Lancaster received 3, Diane Cartwright of Irving received 1, and Steve Nichols of Hutchins received 1 of the 21 votes cast. Since there was no one candidate receiving 16 votes (majority of the 30 votes eligible), a runoff election is necessary. A coin flip between the two candidates who shared the second highest number of votes, Brett Franks and Mona Dixon, resulted in Mona Dixon securing a place on the ballot.

City	Candidate Selected		
1. Addison	Michael Hurtt		
2. Balch Springs	No Vote		
3. Carrollton	Michael Hurtt		
4. Cedar Hill	Mona Dixon		
5. Cockrell Hill	No Vote		
6. Combine	Brett Franks		
7. Coppell	No Vote		
8. DeSoto	Michael Hurtt		
9. Duncanville	Michael Hurtt		
10. Farmers Branch	Michael Hurtt		
11. Ferris	No Vote		
12. Garland	No Vote		
13. Glenn Heights	Michael Hurtt	DECENTER	
14. Grand Prairie	No Vote	RECEIVED	
15. Grapevine	No Vote	JAN 2 2020	
16. Highland Park	Michael Hurtt	JAN 2 2020	
Office of Executive Director/Chief Appraiser			
2949 N. Stemmons Freeway ● Dallas Texas 75247-6195 ● (214) 631-0520			

2949 N. Stemmons Freeway ● Dallas, Texas 75247-6195 ● (214) 631-0520 Web Site: www.dallascad.org

 Hutchins Irving 	Steve Nichols Diane Cartwright
19. Lancaster	Mona Dixon
20. Lewisville	No Vote
21. Mesquite	Michael Hurtt
22. Ovilla	Michael Hurtt
23. Richardson	Michael Hurtt
24. Rowlett	Michael Hurtt
25: Sachse	Brett Franks
26. Seagoville	Michael Hurtt
27. Sunnyvale	No Vote
28. University Park	Michael Hurtt
29. Wilmer	Mona Dixon
30. Wylie	Brett Franks

2. Suburban School District Election

The election process requires a runoff. Steve Pryor of Grand Prairie received 5, Cassandra Philips of Duncanville received 4, and Wesley Jameson of the Dallas County Community College received 2 of the 11 votes cast. Since there was no one candidate receiving 9 votes (majority of the 16 votes eligible), a runoff election is necessary. School districts voting are:

<u>School District</u>	Candidate Selected
1. Carrollton-Farmers Branch	No Vote
2. Cedar Hill	Cassandra Philips
3. Coppell	No Vote
4. Desoto	No Vote
5. Duncanville	Cassandra Philips
6. Ferris	No Vote
7. Garland	Steve Pryor
8. Grand Prairie	Cassandra Philips
9. Grapevine/Colleyville	Steve Pryor
10. Highland Park	Steve Pryor
11. Irving	Steve Pryor
12. Lancaster	Cassandra Philips
13. Mesquite	Wesley Jameson
14. Richardson	Steve Pryor
15. Sunnyvale	No Vote
16. DCCC	Wesley Jameson

3. Dallas County Appointment

On October 15, 2019, the Commissioners Court has reappointed John Warren to the Board of Directors.

4. Dallas ISD Appointment

On August 22, 2019, the Dallas ISD appointed Mr. Edwin Flores to the Board of Directors.

5. City of Dallas Appointment

On December 11, 2019, the City of Dallas reappointed John Threadgill to the Board of Directors.

A copy of the runoff procedures and ballot resolution is attached. The deadline to vote is January 31. Please notify our office immediately when your ballot has been cast.

Attachments



Dallas Central Appraisal District

BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTION RUNOFF PROCEDURE FOR SUBURBAN CITIES/SCHOOL DISTRICTS REPRESENTATIVE

The 1979 Resolution adopted by the taxing units participating in Dallas Central Appraisal District, which governs Board of Director elections and appointments, requires that a candidate for the suburban cities position and a candidate for the suburban school districts positions on the Board each receive a majority of the votes that are cast in order to be elected to the Board of Directors (BOD).

The procedures outlined below are to be used in the event that no candidate receives a majority of the votes for the election for the Suburban Cities Representative to the BOD or the Suburban School Districts Representative to the BOD.

The Property Tax Code allows for the Chief Appraiser to resolve a tie vote by any method of chance.

RUNOFF PROCEDURE:

PARTICIPATING CITIES:

- 1. A candidate for the Suburban Cities Representative must receive a majority of the votes from all the suburban cities participating in the BOD election.
- 2. After the initial ballots are submitted by December 15 of the election year, the Chief Appraiser shall count the votes and if no candidate receives a majority of the votes from the participating suburban cities, the Chief Appraiser will declare the two (2) candidates who received the largest number of votes from the field of candidates.
- 3. The Chief Appraiser shall prepare another ballot listing the two (2) candidates who received the largest number of votes and shall deliver a copy of the ballot to the presiding officer of the governing body of each suburban city that is entitled to vote.
- 4. The governing body of each suburban city that is entitled to vote shall determine its vote by resolution and submit it to the Chief Appraiser on or before January 31.
- 5. The Chief Appraiser shall count the votes, declare the candidate who receives the majority number of votes, and submit the results no later than February 5 to the governing body of each suburban city and to the candidates.

PARTICIPATING SCHOOL DISTRICTS:

- 1. A candidate for the Suburban School Districts Representative must receive a majority of the votes from all the suburban school districts participating in the BOD election.
- 2. After the initial ballots are submitted by December 15 of the election year, the Chief Appraiser shall count the votes and if no candidate receives a majority of the votes from the participating suburban school districts, the Chief Appraiser will declare the two (2) candidates who received the largest number of votes from the field of candidates.

- 3. The Chief Appraiser shall prepare another ballot listing the two (2) candidates who received the largest number of votes and shall deliver a copy of the ballot to the presiding officer of the governing body of each suburban school district that is entitled to vote.
- 4. The governing body of each suburban school district entitled to vote shall determine its vote by resolution and submit it to the Chief Appraiser on or before January 31.
- 5. The Chief Appraiser shall count the votes, declare the candidate who receives the majority number of votes, and submit the results no later than February 5 to the governing body of each suburban school district and to the candidates.

.

i.